The Encyclopedia Hydroponica

Your Hydroponics Compendium

My Cat’s Breath Smells Like… Basil? – Part Deux 24 March, 2009

Filed under: Blog — E.H. @ 11:49 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Some of you might remember this post.


Well I’ve got a bunch of seedlings in a windowsill that’s surrounded by some curtains in order to maintain privacy and thwart my wife’s plant-violating cat. Well as any self-respecting villain is likely to do, she found a way in despite my efforts. Two Swiss chard plants met an early and violent end at her (allegedly) carnivorous teeth. Several other plants were mutilated, harassed, or trod upon. Fur and fuzz were strewn about and other unknown nefarious deeds were undoubtedly committed.


Uncorroborated reports suggest she may have been trying to contact the Dark Forces with some sort of ritual.


I have tightened security and, against my better judgment, procured a supply of cat grass to provide this ne’er do well with an legal outlet for her vegetative vengeance. It just don’t seem right to appease a criminal like that, but until some form of learning ability is found within that furry mind there is little else to do.



What’s most interesting in all of this is that within this window area are two very healthy basil seedlings which were, strangely, the only plants that were wholly untouched. This feline felon munched marigolds of all things, in favor of a truly tasty herb. Clearly not this mastermind’s finest hour… like all cats her goal is clearly world domination, but her personality deficiencies are her greatest enemy.



In other news the outdoor tomatoes appear to be doing well, I’ve got some very nice-looking garlic coming up and my first tulip has broken ground. Inside the lettuce is nearly out of control (it’s massive) and the Micro Tom’s tomatoes are starting to ripen. So there’s home-grown salad on the near future menu.


We went fishing last weekend with no luck, but it was still nice to get out and spend some time together relaxing. And it’s always good to get the tackle out and put it through its paces to see what you need to replace and whatnot. We wanted to try again today but the wind here was fierce. I can cast in wind, I grew up where “windy” means “it can knock you down”, but it was also just chilly enough to cut through you pretty good. Add in a little wet and it’d get downright unpleasant real quick and I don’t fish because I’m hungry. If I’m not having any fun, I’ll go home.


Plus there’s the little point that there are very few things that are less pleasant than the mildest annoyance to one’s spouse.

 

2 Responses to “My Cat’s Breath Smells Like… Basil? – Part Deux”

  1. Dan Says:

    I have been contemplating getting a cat again. I think I would have to install a few doors first. The weather has been pretty chilly lately. You look out to see nice blue sky’s and no snow, then go out to realize it is still frigid.

  2. E.H. Says:

    Or you go outside and find your Honda buried under a couple inches of solid ice… depending on where you live. Check out the weather in the Midwest – they got nailed.

    I’ve got the outside plants covered up here and I’m pretty optimistic they’ll survive this cold snap. Fingers crossed!


Leave a Reply

