The Encyclopedia Hydroponica

Your Hydroponics Compendium

I’m not usually this far behind 16 January, 2009

Filed under: Blog — E.H. @ 10:33 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Okay, I was sure I wasn’t going to do this, but here’s yet another update to say I’m going to bring everyone up to date.

Remember the car buying I mentioned?  Well I finally got that done a week and a half ago.  Then the waterpump on the new car died, literally days before we were going to take our old car to the shop to get some tune-up work done.  The new car overheated and chewed up its head gasket.

So we spent time and (a lot of) money getting that dealt with.

Work hasn’t let up an inch, but will soon.

I gave up on the tomatoes I had growing in 5 gallon buckets of soil.  They were just not at all healthy and showed no signs of successfully bearing fruit.  So I pulled them and I’m restarting everything in a grander scale… sort of.
I got the “salad DWC” out and I’ve got lettuce seeds germinating for it and I’m going to convert the buckets to DWC by plugging the drain holes with silicone and aluminum tape.  I have two varieties of dwarf tomato plants I’ll be growing as a side-by-side comparison.  Those seeds are also germinating.

I got the capacitor for the DIY HID project… it’s about the size of a Red Bull so it doesn’t fit in the remote ballast case I have.  I’ll figure something out and post that up when I actually get it all done and finished.

Oh, and I’ve got plans for a kitty litter vermicomposting project to emulate the one Red Worm Composting is doing.

 

5 Responses to “I’m not usually this far behind”

  1. Dan Says:

    Transportation is such a pain, our truck is doing this bucking thing around highway speed. Ford can not figure out why it is doing but they can sure keep billing us for trying.

    What kind of hydroponic tomato growing have you done? I am thinking about trying one of those aeroponic 5 gallon bucket things next year under my metal halide. Any luck with them?

  2. E.H. Says:

    I can’t say I’ve really had much luck with it so far.

    I tried a couple in a vermiculite/perlite mix that was watered with a hydroponic nutrient solution… those grew up a few feet and started losing leaves as fast as they could grow them and all flowers died before blooming.

    I had a similar result growing the next batch in soil.

    I’m thinking the problem I had was nutritional – the nutes I was using were bargain basement and the soil was too.

    I know for a fact that tomatoes will thrive in DWC so that’s what I’m doing. I’ve also got a major upgrade to my nutrients planned but until it comes through I don’t want to jinx the deal by saying what it is.

  3. Red Icculus Says:

    I have a salad DWC tub as well, even though the Aerogarden has met my salad needs the last couple times around.

    It seems we read a lot of the same blogs. I love “Red Worm Composting”.

    Thanks for dropping by!

    Red

  4. Kim Says:

    Hmm, let me know how your kitty litter vermicomposting goes. I’ve got three beasts that would be delighted to see their waste eaten by worms.

  5. E.H. Says:

    Well so far the only thing I’ve done effectively on that project is kill worms. I know the theory is sound, something’s just wrong with my execution of it and at the moment I’ve got enough things to do without spending a lot of time trying to figure out what I was doing wrong in that bin.

    Last I checked I couldn’t find any living worms so I’ve given up on kitty litter composting for the time being. The corn-based litter is still VASTLY superior to any other product I’ve ever seen, tried, or even heard rumored.

    I kid you not, that stuff is everything kitty litter is supposed to be. The cat’s litter box is now in my office no less than three feet from where I sit to work. (It’s one of those covered kind with the swinging door.) And it seems to last a lot longer than anything else we’ve ever tried. We haven’t needed more since we started (whenever that was) and it looks like it’ll last at least another month or more. We just dumped the whole bag in at once and scoop out clumps as need be.

    Lasts forever, works flawlessly, smells nice. Can’t beat that.


Leave a Reply

