The Encyclopedia Hydroponica

Your Hydroponics Compendium

Goes Together like Pizza and Hydroponics 12 September, 2008

Filed under: Blog — E.H. @ 3:13 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

A guy I know pointed out this deal to me so I figured I’d pass it along in case anyone was interested.

I’d do it myself, but it’s been awhile (several whiles, in fact) since I was a student so I can’t really qualify.

Simply put, the deal is that you write some stuff about hydroponics and the environment, send off an email to Advanced Nutrients, and they send back a card for $20 worth of Pizza Hut food. I didn’t read all the fine print since I got to the “must have an edu email address” and realized that I couldn’t do this myself, but it looks like it’s pretty simple. Here’s the link:

http://www.advancednutrients.com/pizza/

Check it out, if you’re not interested your not out anything, and if you are it’s $20 of free pizza. As I like to say, you can’t beat that with a stick.

Actually I suppose you could, but you’d look pretty silly physically assaulting a pizza and it would make a mess.

Enjoy!

 

10 Responses to “Goes Together like Pizza and Hydroponics”

  1. Kim Says:

    Does anyone else see the irony in this?

  2. E.H. Says:

    How do you mean? I can see some weak irony a couple different ways, but nothing really great.

    There’s the eco-friendliness of hydroponics compared to the general “junk food” status of pizza, or the writing about growing food in hydroponics and getting coupons for food in return…

    but nothing really jumps out to make me laugh.

    What were you seeing?

  3. Kim Says:

    Yes, all of the above. Not the funny type of irony. I could see them giving away giftcards to Whole Foods or a nutritional supplement they manufacture….but Pizza Hut? Where in the junk food eating sector of America will you find someone who is interested in hydroponics, or even growing your own food for any purpose?

    It wasn’t funny….just the first thought that entered my head when I read that post, EH. How’re the worms doing?

  4. A giftcard from Thompson & Morgan would be more to my taste. They do sell different sprouting packages, and I wouldn’t be surprised if you could buy water cress seeds from them.

    But pizza?

    Kind of feels wrong.

  5. Kim Says:

    Thank you, Rose.

  6. E.H. Says:

    I dunno, I can see the logic behind their choice.

    It’s for college kids and that’s traditionally a pizza and soda crowd. Plus, pizza is a more universally desired product. If you want people to want to do something for a reward you need the reward to be desirable, right?

    There’s more Pizza Huts than Whole Foods for a reason. Not saying that this is a good thing, just the nature of the beast. More people will blog for pizza than sprouts.

  7. Kim Says:

    So they’re wanting information from college kids regarding hydroponics? Still not to clear on what they are asking for….oh well, no biggie. I’m clearly not their target market…haven’t been for awhile now. 🙂

  8. E.H. Says:

    Yeah, me either.

    I think what they’re trying to do is encourage college kids to look into hydroponics more, see how much potential there is there for major changes to our economy, environment, and so on, and then try to get this out to other college kids and the world.

    There’s only so much people will listen to when you sell the product, you know? If I were to try to sell you on how great hydroponics is while I’ve got a whole line of stuff to sell you, my opinion is obviously biased.

    Hydroponics itself could solve a vast amount of the problems we have around the world (just think what locally-grown and abundant food would do in Africa, for example).

  9. Kim Says:

    Ah, I see your point. Yes, I know for myself hydroponics is definitely something I want to learn more about, to grow my own salad greens year round, and it’s become even more important now that we know contamination is such a real problem.

    No E. coli with my greens, thank you very much!

  10. E.H. Says:

    I just greatly prefer creating things myself. Whether that’s building my own table, creating my own hydroponics system, or growing my own food, I just get a lot of satisfaction from doing it myself.

    I don’t even bother trying to figure out if it’s costing me more per tomato than the supermarket or not. I think my stuff tastes better than the supermarket, but I’m biased. And as soon as I say “homegrown” to someone else their perceptions are colored as a result.

    Ultimately the flavor, cost, or “organic-ness” isn’t my motivation. It’s the satisfaction of accomplishment. It’s easy to exchange money for goods. The challenge is to create your own goods. I don’t do it with everything (I’ve assembled my own computer for years, but I sure as heck didn’t build the parts) but I take pride in doing what I can.

    On my to-do: Build a table, sew a pair of cargo pants, and custom-design and create an armored laptop bag. The last two will undoubtedly cost more than buying a similar thing, but they’ll be made exactly how I like out of the materials I choose. Can’t really put a price on that.


Leave a Reply

