The Encyclopedia Hydroponica

Your Hydroponics Compendium

What They Don’t Tell You About Self-Employment 20 August, 2008

Filed under: Blog — E.H. @ 12:51 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Is that you never get a day off.  Not really.  Sure, you might not get any work done in a given day but you sure as hell aren’t actually “off work”.  No, your brain is still on the job and, in all likelihood, you only took the day off to catch up on housework or some other mundane (and not particularly relaxing) task.

That’s where I’ve been recently, except worse than usual.

See, usually I can find an hour or so to do something purely fun, like play a video game or watch some TV.  But with all the dental work and recovery from the dental work, I’ve pretty much been unable to do anything but work just to keep up.  If I were self-employed in the “own my own business with employees” sense I could just crack the whip over their heads a bit more vigorously to make up the difference.  But since I’m my own (and only) employee, I have to just flog myself and that takes all the fun out of being the boss, if I may say so.

Now I’ve got 5 manuals to read and two more books on order that I need to completely absorb and master because, of course, I’m my own advertising department and surprisingly that’s not exactly what I went to school for.

So if the blogging’s been a bit light of late, you can see why, right?  I used up all my “vacation” time being miserable for a few days a week thanks to the dentist and managing to get just enough work done when I wasn’t doped up, asleep, or incoherent to keep things from circling the drain.  Minor little trivia like “actually doing dishes”, “basic housework”, or “changing the oil” have fallen by the wayside over the last, what… 10 weeks?

A lot of my recent blogging was done flat on my back during some of my less coherent moments (and for that I apologize), but I’m really starting to turn the corner in this whole ordeal and I’ve even begun to feel vaguely human again.  Which of course means that all the crap I put off is suddenly harder and harder to excuse putting off any longer.  As much as I hate to act like an adult, it’s time to start doing so.  On the other hand, I still plan to have ice cream for supper, so maturity can eat my shorts.  (And, frankly, I may be feeling better but that doesn’t mean I have a chance in hell of actually eating a steak that hasn’t been converted into a milkshake, so I’m gonna eat whatever I can regardless of how good it is for me.  I’m losing weight, so ice cream isn’t a problem.)

So what am I getting at besides an apparently shameless bid for sympathy?  (No seriously, no sympathy please.  The wife has that covered, recovered, and then covered yet again just for good measure.  I’m full up on sympathy.)  Just wanted to let you know that if it seems like it’s taking me a long time to get back to speed on blogging it’s not because I’m malingering.

I’m trying to catch up after all this malingering.  And blogging doesn’t pay the bills or make my house look like it’s fit for human habitation.  But it would be very cool if it did.

I do have a lot of stuff to update you on, and it’s probably going to end up being a strangely cool picture montage of my hydroponic garden over the last month or so – I’ve been taking pictures just haven’t gotten around to resizing them from “godawfully huge” to “I can actually pull that through a normal Internet connection before Hillary gets elected to a third Presidential term”.

Two parting things:

First, I may bellyache from time to time about all the crap that goes into being self-employed.  But I really do enjoy it and would rather do this than any time-clock job.  True, the pay isn’t fantastic, I have no paid sick leave or vacation time, and I find myself working 50, 60 hours a week to bill for 40, but I can show up for work unshaven, naked, and drunk if I like and no one cares.  (Kidding about the drunk part.  Usually.)

Actually, someone does care.  My wife will tell me to shave and make an unpublishable remark about my attire, but I don’t get fired, and that’s my point.

Second, I’ve got a really, really cool secret project in the works.  I don’t know yet if it will go through, but if it does it’s going to be incredibly awesome.  As least it’ll be incredibly awesome to me, I can’t speak for you.  Stay tuned, I should hear back from the other people involved soon.

All I’ll say is this:  If what I hope will happen actually happens, my UPS guy is going to hate me.  Perhaps enough to vandalize my house.  And it will totally be worth it.

 

4 Responses to “What They Don’t Tell You About Self-Employment”

  1. Kim Says:

    Aw, you said ‘bellyache’. You’re adorable.

  2. I’m responding as an oldtimer here. It does get easier. Honest. And you’re the boss…so give yourself a break. Actually, studies show that creative time off usually leads to getting more done in less time.

    Honestly, it sounds as if your business is running you. It’s time for you to run it.

  3. E.H. Says:

    Thanks for the advice.

    I think I mainly need to work on time management and boundaries. I tend to try to do too much for the client, just heaping more and more on my plate until I have entirely too much to do. But I can never remember to actually start or stop my timers so I never have an accurate idea of how much time I’ve spent working, either.

    So I end up doing too much un-billed work.

  4. avocado99 Says:

    Hey, Hydroponica,

    Balance and time management. You’re on the right track.

    The wise man allocates his time between alternate periods of work and repose.

    If you do anything creative, reaching into your subconscious during periods of rest, will actually come up with creative solutions to problems you encounter at work.

    Many times I’ve woken up from a deep nap and immediately came to my computer–the insurmountable difficulty of a few hours ago seemed easy to solve after releasing the pressure of having to solve it.

    Take care,
    Avocado99

    Come visit my blog at
    click here


Leave a Reply

