The Encyclopedia Hydroponica

Your Hydroponics Compendium

The Fruits of My Labors 14 June, 2008

Filed under: Blog — E.H. @ 8:49 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I had a little harvest a few days ago because my Georgia Collard was getting too big and was blocking the light to its neighbors.  I cooked them up in a pan with some crushed garlic and butter – it was delicious.

Today I checked and my Grand Rapids lettuce was in the same situation – blocking light to the Simpson’s Curled and threatening to overtake the basil.  So I harvested about half of the leaves on the lettuce plant (the oldest ones) and a few leaves from one spinach plant along with another leaf from the Georgia Collard.  (This leaf, a few days ago, was the size of a 3×5 card.  Today it was the size of half a sheet of paper.)

Altogether the leaves filled up a medium-sized mixing bowl.  Everything but the collard got torn up into salad sized pieces and made two large salads.  My wife took one to work for lunch and I ate the other right then.  I also steamed the collard leaf and ate that.  It was rather strong flavored, so I’m thinking I probably undercooked it slightly.  Generally I like my vegetables fresh or only slightly cooked, but I think with the collard a little more cooking time might be best.

Unfortunately I didn’t take any pictures because I was just having too much fun.

Fresh greens are nice.  Fresh greens which were picked minutes before eating are just a completely different food.

 

Leave a Reply

