The Encyclopedia Hydroponica

Your Hydroponics Compendium

My Friend Vicodin 11 June, 2008

Filed under: Blog — E.H. @ 11:02 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Well technically it’s Hydrocodone that I’m taking, but that’s just the generic name for the brand-name of Vicodin.  (Also known as Lortabs, or any of a dozen or so other names).

Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t really see the big deal with it.  I’m a big fan of the show “House, M.D.” in which the main character is a Vicodin addict.  I’m also an ex-smoker, so I’m no stranger to addiction.  Hell, I’m a huge caffeine addict as well.  So far I don’t see the addictive quality of Vicodin.  I’m not saying it’s not there – I just don’t see it.  But I’m definitely glad for the prescription.  It definitely helps with the pain, but beyond that I can’t imagine how the addictive side works.  Asprin helps with pain, but I don’t feel motivated to take it.

I just had some pretty major oral surgery – well I’m not sure if it would be considered major to a dentist, but it’s definitely the most major thing I’ve had done.  I’ll spare you all the details, but I was awake for it so I guess it wouldn’t technically be all that major.  Unfortunately this is just part 1 of 5-6 episodes to repair the damage caused by a hereditary condition (in the same way buying a new car “fixes” the old one).

I got a little work done on the Encyclopedia, but mostly I’ve just been napping.  The Hydrocodone helps a lot with the pain but I can’t accurately gage exactly how much it helps.  For one thing I’ve been in pretty much constant pain to some degree for a long time, which distorts your perceptions of what “hurts”.  For another, I hadn’t bothered to let the medication wear off until today.  A little achy but not bad.

One thing no one told me, which I’ll share with you just in case it helps, is that if the dentist does any kind of serious work on your lower teeth there’s a good chance your whole jaw will be sore for a few days.  If you’ve ever taken a good shot to the jaw in a fist-fight you know the kind of soreness I’m talking about.  If they’ve got to strong arm around the molars in particular they’ll put enough strain on the joints (right in front of your ears) that it feels like they’re trying to yank it off.  Right now that’s what hurts more than anything else.

In other news…

The Mystery Plant is threatening to become the Mystery Shrub.  It’s looking more and more like a turnip.  If it’s a radish I may have to call the EPA or something – a radish that big could be a prelude to some vegetable-based invasion.

The assault-victim basil has died, though the cat is not a suspect.  I moved it outside, we had a windy day, and it appears to have gotten stem rot around the same time.  Too many problems at once, I think.  The basil in my dwc is growing so fast I’ve topped it once and it doesn’t seem to have cared – within days it was just as big as before.  I think I may borrow some ideas from the other side of the legality fence and tie it down.  (They call it LST – Low Stress Training.)

The hydroponics plants are exploding.  I’m going to have to raise the light soon, and a cabinet will probably be required within a couple weeks.

Anyway,

I’m planning to get more work done on the Encyclopedia soon, as well as some photographic updates on how the hydroponics plants are doing as well as the Mystery Plant/Shrug/Invader.  I’m starting to feel more energetic so I ought to be back to normal by tomorrow.

 

2 Responses to “My Friend Vicodin”

  1. swallowed Says:

    Short-term use of opiods like Vicodin (hydrocodone) is usually not a problem for MOST people. But continued use beyond a few weeks—or use by persons pre-disposed to addiction—or both, can be dangerous.

    Opiods like hydrocodone occupy the opiate receptors in your brain making you feel good, which incidentally lowers your perception of pain. With continued use, your body lowers the production of your own, natural “feel good” chemicals, and depends on the artificial supply from the pills you are providing—this is called chemical dependence.

    When the artificial supply is withdrawn (you stop taking the pills), your body can no longer manufacture enough of these vital chemicals and, rather than feeling good, you begin to feel horrible—this is called withdrawal.

    I am not telling you what to do, or what not to do. I am only suggesting that you educate yourself on the subject. Opiate withdrawal is not something you would enjoy.

  2. hydroponica Says:

    Oh don’t get me wrong – I’m not doing anything unwise here. I got the 12 Vicodin prescribed and it was exactly the right amount. When I ran out of them the pain had subsided to the level to where Ibuprofen was able to handle it.

    After a few days with Ibuprofen things are good enough I’m doing fine without even that. I’ve got some discomfort left, particularly in the joints of my jaw, but it’s not that big a deal.

    The point was that Vicodin doesn’t have an obvious addictive hook – at least not that I could see. Of course that might be because I wasn’t taking too much, but from my experience it doesn’t have the “feel good” quality one normally associates with an abused drug.

    It seems that the addiction is more of a “not feeling bad” thing than a “feeling good” thing. When taken as prescribed it didn’t make me feel “good”, it simply made me not feel as bad as I would’ve without it.

    My point was that Vicodin isn’t – in my experience – any fun. It’s just a tool. Maybe if you take too much or do something similarly stupid it’s different, but if I’m just sitting around bored looking for something to “do”, Vicodin would be at the bottom of the list. A good beer and a movie would probably be at the top. (Caffeine and alcohol are all I do recreationally.)


Leave a Reply

